Italian University System

UniMC offers a wide range of degree programs in the Social Sciences and Humanities, spanning from Languages to History and Philosophy, from Education to Tourism and Cultural Heritage, from Economics to Business, from Law to Political Science and Communication.

The university system is organized in three levels of degree

The first-level degree is the Bachelor’s Degree (Laurea Triennale), obtained at the end of a three-year program. It prepares students for intermediate job positions in the labor market.

The second-level degree is the

  • Single-Cycle Degree (Laurea Magistrale a Ciclo Unico),  a single 5 year master's degree, which does not require a previous bachelor's degree for the admission
  • Master’s Degree (Laurea Magistrale), a postgraduate degree obtained after a two-year program. It prepares students for higher, managerial and professional positions.

The third level degree is the Ph.D (Dottorato di ricerca), a three-year program aimed at carrying out highly specialised research activity.

Three-year Bachelor's degree

Two-year Master's degree

Five-year Single-Cycle Degree

Ph.D programme
(3 Years)

What are CREDITS?

The University credit system (CFU) which is based on the ECTS system, is represented by numerical values allocated to course units to describe the student workload. Each credit is equivalent to 25 hours of work including: lessons, hands-on practice, laboratories, internships and self-study. The total work of an Italian student is calculated as 60 credits which correspond to 1500 hours per year. A course unit is awarded credits once the relevant examination is passed by the student with a minimum grade of 18/30.
For further information on the ECTS (European Credit Transfer System)

What are CLASSES? (classi)

All degree courses are grouped into classes (classi) which relate to a specific field of study. Degrees belonging to one class all have the same legal value.

Last update 19 July 2018